The Adirondack Museum believes in the power of history to ignite the imagination, stimulate thought and shape the future. Our collections and engaging programs reflect stories of life, work, and play in the Adirondack Park and northern New York State.
The Arkell Museum at Canajoharie has just reopened in a new building, with exhibitions on American art and Mohawk Valley history. Visitors to the museum will discover paintings by American artists such as Winslow Homer, Childe Hassam, Robert Henri, Maurice Prendergast, and Georgia O’Keeffe on display in the galleries. Examples of Beech-Nut advertising are also featured in new exhibitions, and we have scheduled a variety of exciting programs and events that are open to the public. The Arkell Museum is located halfway between Albany and Utica — just three blocks from Exit 29 on the New York State Thruway (I-90).
The Children’s Museum is developmentally appropriate for elementary aged children and younger, however we find that some older children enjoy the museum when accompanying younger visitors. Additionally, we have programs designed to include older children. Please feel free to call us if you have questions about the nature of our exhibits or programs.
When you really want to get away from it all, plan a trip to the Fulton County Museum. The museum is located on the site of the original 1831 Kingsborough Academy and is in the historic Kingsboro area of Gloversville. You will want to take a few minutes to sightsee in this district which includes early homes, a colonial commons, and a Revolutionary War-era cemetery.
Fort Klock was initially constructed in 1750 by Johannes Klock, and in 1973 was designated a National Historic Landmark, a site “of exceptional value in commemorating or illustrating the history of the United States.” This 30 acre complex of original colonial farm structures and 19th century schoolhouse and blacksmith shop is open from 9:00 A.M. until 5:00 P.M., Tuesday through Sunday, from Memorial Day until early October. A small fee is charged.
Georgian Manor built in 1763 became the nucleus of a working estate. Sir William Johnson acquired fine furnishings, established formal gardens and added a mill, blacksmith shop, Indian store, barns and other buildings necessary to encourage settlement of the area. The hall has been restored to its 18th century character.
The Nellie Tyrrell Museum and the Rural Museum are owned and maintained by the Town of Edinburg and leased to the Edinburg Historical Society.
The Nellie Tyrrell Museum was originally the Beecher Hollow School. This one-room school was built in 1860 on property once part of the Walter Vaughn Farm. It replaces an earlier log school that was located just above the present Copeland Bridge. The building served as a school until 1930 when it became the Town Hall until 1974. In 1975 it opened as the Edinburgh Town Museum and was renamed the Nellie Tyrrell Museum in 1979.
Northampton Historical Museum
The historical society aims to preserve the history of the region through its museum.
Step onto the back of the Great Turtle. So begins your visit to the Noteworthy Indian Museum.
Developed from over 60,000 artifacts, the museum quality clay pots, stone tools, beadwork and baskets tell the story of the Mohawk. As you view these treasures, easy to read signs explain their significance and uses.
The story of Fort Johnson and Sir William Johnson began with his arrival in the Mohawk Valley as a young man to manage his uncle’s estate, but he soon acquired land of his own. In 1749, he built a fieldstone house he called Fort Johnson, his residence for 14 years and the site of numerous Indian conferences. Johnson conferred regularly with the Iroquois, and he also met the representatives of tribes from New England and the Midwest. His negotiations with the Iroquois nations kept them on the side of the British during the French and Indian War, and the alliance continued during the War for Independence. The residence became home to son John Johnson from 1763-1774.
Former home of Charles & Rose Knox, founder of Knox Gelatin. This 42-room Victorian Neoclassic estate has been restored to its original beauty.
Paul Bradt Museum
Collection of North American wildlife and artifacts.
1857-1947 Schoolhouse started by John Peck, Original furniture, including desks, maps and blackboard. Nature trail. School field trips by appointment.
(Mayfield Historical Society Museum)
A Federalist style homestead. Listed on national and state historic registers.
a 3500 sq. ft. rustic barn-type structure, is located just up the hill from the Nellie Tyrrell Museum. The building had been the former Town highway barn until 1975 and was then used as a storage facility until 1992. The Town leased the building to the Society in 1992, and renamed the Rural Museum, has been housing permanent exhibits ever since. Over the years the exhibits included “Early Logging”, and “Maple Sugaring”; in the spring of 2001, the “Victorian Parlor”, “Country Kitchen”, and “Woodworking” exhibits were updated and improved and a working “Up and Down Sawmill” exhibit was installed. The “Threads, Fiber and Fabric” exhibit centers around a working loom for visitors and students to work on.
The Walter Elwood Museum is a gateway to learning using the past to illuminate the present. Utilizing local experience, stories and artifacts, we examine history and culture in all its dimensions. We offer educational programs, unique collections and creative activities to enrich understanding of ourselves and each other.
The Wild Center
Adirondack Museum of Natural History
The Wild Center is a not-for-profit organization overseen by the Museum’s Board of Trustees with the assistance of its Advisory Board. The Museum is located on a 31-acre site in the Town of Tupper Lake, NY near the geographic center of the Adirondack Park. The Adirondacks are unique in the world. Surrounded by people, they house great expanses of nature interspersed with small towns and communities. They can be a model for a future where man and the rest of the natural world find better ways to coexist.
The museum houses a collection of birds, fish and other animals. Also displayed are early tools and implements used to catch game and fish -from ancient times to the present day – including traps, spears, bows and arrows and guns. The art gallery has an extensive collection of prints and paintings. The gift shop has hundreds of all occasion gifts.